Beginners Luck?

Extra Extrra: I conscientiously chose the images and structure of my header. I took two image ideas that interested me and combined them to create a graphic design. I have always had in interested in colorful things and images and I have recently developed an interest in high power of positions and royalty. I had an idea of including a queen or a woman of high power on my page. The women I decided to choose was Nefertiti, Queen and Great Royal Wife (chief consort), who ruled aside her husband, Pharaoh Akhenten, in Egypt.

Our assignment for week four was to exercise our graphic design skills through the online photo editor website, Pixlr. Through the website we had to create a header for our blog, which will exhibit our creativity and that will subsequently tell something about ourselves. Immediately upon receiving the assignment, I was positive many difficulties would arise through the process, yet I was extremely surprised at the limited amount of issues.

One thing I found rather easy was working with layers. Because I have worked with them prior to the photo tutorial lesson from this week, the instructions flowed through me smoothly. I would be mistaken if I claimed myself as an expert, but with some more practice I could see myself potentially becoming greatly sufficient in these photo-editing applications. Another area I felt comfortable in was image resizing. Normally, image resizing is the most difficult to contend, yet some how when mashing together the two images that I choose, I successfully fit the two together perfectly. Hopefully, this was not only luck, but that I am progressively getting better in comparison to my first attempt through the last assignment we were assigned.

However, completing the assigned assignment wasn’t as unchallenging as it seems so far through my feedback. I had the most difficulty creating a header that would not become distorted or pixelated. Through image resizing, trying to find high quality resolution photos, and trying to create an image perfect for my layout, I would admit my header isn’t in its best possible quality. However, because I am proud of my creation and my progression in photo editing, I have grown to like my header a lot. Tell me what you guys think, I would love some feedback!

3 responses to “Beginners Luck?

  1. I like the idea of the two different images, the colors are pretty cool. The only thing I could recommend is that you make the images a little bit clearer, or find larger images to use so that it’s not distorted. If you look in the original, the Egyptian woman is thinner while, in your header, she’s stretched in width. Other than that, looks good!

  2. I really like your header and I must admit, I’m jealous. Mine is very poorly made compared to yours and I admire your creativity and hard work. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed making yours and the fact that you didn’t face too many major issues. I for one had a terrible time trying to create something good. I also agree though that it was hard to deal with image re-sizing so that the quality of the pictures came out okay. I found that part rather frustrating and time consuming. You should be very proud of your header. It looks really great!

  3. Your header is definitely interesting! You did a good job using the lasso tool (I think it’s that tool?) to cut around the head. I had difficulty with my first header and it being distorted and yeah, it was pretty frustrating. Also, I like how your new header still pertains to your blog name and like how you have a story behind it.

Leave a comment