Garage Fun…

http://recording-studio-software-review.toptenreviews.com/garage-band-review.html

courtsey of: recording-studio-software-review

http://file://localhost/Users/FatimahFoster/Desktop/My%20Song.mp3

With technical difficulties and lack of preparation, I found working with Garage Band quite an exciting experience. Though my computer failed on me last minute and I found myself searching for a proper computer lab that would lead me to completing my project, the amount of time I spent working on the assignment outside of class was enjoyable. I will admit that I was not very good. However, I believe the process of creating a podcast is one that can be solved with a little more practice.

The area I found most difficult was slicing. As mentioned in class on Tuesday, ears are an important aspect in the joining of two songs. I knew all the things I had to do, but I couldn’t get the songs to come together as I imagined. Once again, I assume this process will suffice with practice. The two songs I chose for my podcast were from two females on my top 10 artists list of this year, Lana Del Rey and Jhene Aiko.

The two women usually sound excellent together,when I play them back-to-back on my itunes when listening to music, however, I’m not sure the two flowed together smoothly this time around.  Upon completion, I immediately realized next time I will have to listen more closely to the beats, as well as better transitioning techniques.

Cross fading was easy! Fade in a little and fade out a little. Immediately I realized I was a master cross-fader (not really). But, no, I did not have much trouble crossfading, as there was not much to it. I guess now, all I have to do is make splicing my…friend.

Overall, I would say I had a great experience with Garage Band, despite the complications I had. I can’t really think of a reason why I would use Garage Band in the future, but I would love to make up a reason, because that is how much I enjoyed playing around with it. Perhaps random rants on irrelevant topics with random music playing in the background? Probably not, but I plan to continue to exercising my Garage Band skills outside of class.

Leave a comment